2020 UEFA European Football Championship

The 2020 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly known as Euro 2020 is scheduled to be played the 16th UEFA European Championship. The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) is responsible for organizing the international men’s football championship of Europe.

The matches of the tournament are scheduled to be held in 12 cities in 12 UEFA countries from 12 June to 12 July 2020, but now the tournament would be delayed by a year due to the 2020 coronavirus pandemic in Europe, announced by UEFA on 17 March 2020.

European Format Decision:

On the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the tournament on 6 December 2012, UEFA announced the tournament would be held in multiple cities across Europe. There is no concept of automatic qualifying berth and all 55 UEFA national teams including the 12 nationals teams whose countries will host stage matches, have to compete in the qualifiers for the 24 places at the finals tournament.

Qualified Teams

The 20 teams that qualified via the groups will be joined by the four play-off winners. The tournament will feature 24 teams following UEFA’s decision to expand the number of participants from 2016. There will be six groups comprised of four teams like the same as its predecessor Euro 2016. The following 20 sides and Groups have confirmed at Euro 2020.

Group A: Wales, Switzerland, Tukey, Itay

Group B: Finland, Denmark, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands, Austria, play-off winner D or A

Group D: England, Czech Republic, play-off winner C, Croatia

Group E: Sweden, Poland, Spain, play-off winner B

Group F: paly-off winner A or D, France, Germany, Portugal

The winners of 2004 UEFA Euro, Greece failed to qualify their second straight European Championship and third consecutive major tournament. The Denmark and Netherlands returned after missing out in 2016. Finland makes its European Championship debut, having never qualified for a major tournament and for the first time, Wales and Austria reached ensuring European Championship Tournaments. Seven host countries out of twelve managed to qualify for the tournament, therefore four hosting teams enter the play-offs, while one of the host country Azerbaijan was entirely eliminated from the qualifying group stage.

Teams are in the play-offs

Path A: Bulgaria, Iceland, Israel, Romania, Hungary

Path B: Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Path C: Norway, Bulgaria, Romania, Israel, Serbia, Hungary, Scotland

Path D: Kosovo, North Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia

The eligibility criteria for the play-offs are based on the performance of the remaining nations during the Nations League groups.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *